19.1 Using a Shared Database

A Shared Database can be used in the same way as your local database, but also allows multiple users to access the same database at the same time. The folders in your Shared Database can be private to an individual, shared with a subset of users, or shared with all database users, and users can be given read or write access to documents as required.

This section provides an overview of what you need to know to connect to and use an existing Shared Database. More information on setting up a Shared Database and administering access to folders is available in sections 19.2.1 and 19.2.2 .

   19.1.1 Overview of Direct SQL Connection
   19.1.2 Overview of Geneious Server Database
   19.1.3 Connecting to a Shared Database
   19.1.4 Removing a Shared Database
   19.1.5 Storing Documents in a Shared Database
    Document Compatibility Between Versions
    Document Size Limitations
   19.1.6 Backing up your shared database