19.1.2 Overview of Geneious Server Database
This section provides an overview of key points for using a Geneious Server Database. For more details, refer the section 19.3
Connecting to your database:
- Geneious Server Database is available to customers who have purchased a license for Geneious Server or Geneious Server Database in addition to their Geneious Prime license.
- Once the database has been set up, you can connect to your shared database from diﬀerent computers or Geneious Prime installations.
- Access to documents is controlled by creating Groups and Roles which specify the permission level for members of the group (for more information on Groups and Roles, refer to section 19.3.2
- When new folders are added on the root folder, by default they are private to the user who created them. This can be changed by a Database Admin.
- Subfolders will be added to the same group as their parent folder.
- All users can create and remove groups and add users to new groups by default. This can be changed by a Database Admin.
- By default, you can change the group of a folder if you have EDIT access. This can be restricted to Admins by a Database Admin.
Read only folders:
- If you have VIEW access to a folder, the documents will be read only.
- Read only folders are indicated by a grey padlock on the folder icon.
- If you try to edit a document in a read only folder, you will be asked to select a diﬀerent location to save a copy of the document with your changes.